NOTD: Julep Carrie + Birthday Nail Art

**Updated 09/01/11: Some fellow nail bloggers (and non-bloggers) have run into issues with Julep regarding their referral program and customer service practices. For more information, I suggest checking out Jen’s and Kitty’s posts. Though I am fully aware of the current problems surrounding the Maven program, I will continue to participate unless my own experiences with Julep give me a reason not to. As always, use your judgment.**

“You say it’s your birthday…”

Half of you might have an earworm. The other half don’t know what this song is or who sang it. And a few stragglers are probably remembering Showbiz Pizza (pre-Chuck E. Cheese) where the animatronic gorilla scared the shit out of me as a child. No? Just me then…

Anyhow, I got my Julep Maven box in the mail yesterday (still excited). I had been planning some birthday cupcake nail art for a while now, but I couldn’t decide what base color to use (I don’t care if it’s been overdone in the past, I never got to jump on the bandwagon). Enter Julep Carrie.

Carrie is a girly-girl bright pink creme. It’s a little too “in-your-face” to be a baby pink. The formula is a little thick, but pretty opaque. It’s kind of streaky, so I needed three coats to even things out. I find this happens to me a lot with really opaque pink cremes. I had to add some thinner to get it to play right. And the bottle lettering is upside down for my favorite way to take pictures LoL.

So like I mentioned earlier, I wanted to do cupcakes for my birthday. I grabbed some acrylic paints, some different colored bullion beads from the Born Pretty Store (never checked them out? You probably should. Discount nail art supplies and free shipping). And topped it all off with a rhinestone cherry (did anyone else get a “Rhinestone Cowboy” moment just then?) and life is good.

Up close and personal with the cuppycake:

Enjoy!

BTW: I don’t like vanilla icing. It just holds this particular cupcake together nicely.

6 thoughts on “NOTD: Julep Carrie + Birthday Nail Art

  1. I love this I want to eat it now it looks nommy.. lol come do my nails for my birthday please Lisa. 😉 haha
    I know I told you already but I’ll tell you again..HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

